Posted by: Linda B | February 2, 2010

safe and warm

Timely.

Honoring Passing Spaces
Saying Good-bye to a Home

Saying good-bye to a home or space is an important part of moving forward. It gives us a sense of completion.

When we move from one residence to another, we often get so caught up in the forward thrust of where we are going that we forget to properly say good-bye to the home we are leaving behind. Yet saying good-bye is an important part of moving forward. It gives us a sense of completion so that we are able to fully inhabit our new space, having left nothing of ourselves behind in the old one. In this way, we honor the space that has held and nurtured us. At the same time, we cleanse it and empty it of our energy so that the new residents can make the space theirs.

Plan a walk through your home that begins and ends at the front door. Ideally, you will be alone or accompanied only by a person who shared the space with you. Prepare yourself mentally to be as present as you can during this process. As you enter the house, you might say, “I have come to thank you for being my home and to say good-bye.” You might touch the walls with your hands as you move through the house, or you might burn sage as an offering, as well as an energy cleanser. Spend some time in each room expressing your gratitude and gathering or releasing any lingering energy from the room. As you do this, you are freeing your home to embrace its new occupants. Remember to visit your outside spaces as well. Plants are especially sensitive to the energy around them and will appreciate your consideration.

As you make your way back to the front door, know that you have completed your final journey through your home and that you have honored and blessed it with this ritual of farewell. As you close and lock the door behind you, say one last good-bye. Now you can walk freely into your future and fully inhabit the new spaces that will keep you safe and warm.

Responses

  1. I’ve done a walk through like this in places I’ve moved from and it DOES give you a nice sense of closure and helps you move on…especially if the move is one that you may not have wanted to make at the time.

  2. I like walk throughs but then I’m a sentimental bugger.

    Below matches my mood more of late and the kind of walk throughs I’ve usually done…

    I think these lyrics are fantastic and am sharing for what they are worth…

    These rooms play tricks upon you
    Remember when they were always
    filled with laughter
    But now they’re quite deserted
    They seem to just echo voices raised in anger
    Maybe you will see my face
    Reflected there on the pane
    In the window up above our poor forlorn
    and broken home
    Yet this house is empty now
    There’s nothing I can do
    To make you want to stay
    So tell me how am I supposed
    to live without you
    These walls were lined with pictures
    Remember the glass we charged in celebration
    But now I fill my life up
    With all that I can to deaden this sensation
    Do you recognize the face
    Fixed in that fine silver frame
    Were you really so unhappy there
    You never said
    [ Find more Lyrics on http://mp3lyrics.org/aJV ]
    So this house is empty now
    There’s nothing I can do to
    make you want to stay
    So tell me how am I supposed
    to live without you
    Oh, if I could just become forgetful
    When night seems endless
    Does the extinguished candle care
    About the darkness
    It’s funny how the memory
    Will bring you so close then
    make you disappear
    Meanwhile all our friends must choose
    Who they will favor, who they will lose
    Hang the garland high or close the door
    Or throw away the key
    This house is empty now
    There’s no one living here
    You have to care about
    This house is empty now
    There’s nothing I can do
    To make you want to stay
    So tell me how am I supposed
    to live without you
    This house is empty now
    This house is empty now
    There’s nothing I can do
    This house is empty now
    This house is empty now


Leave a Reply

Categories

