Posted by: Linda B | March 17, 2011

I’m pregnant.

I’m pregnant.

Okay, so really I have been that way for the last 7 months (36 days to go) so this isn’t news, but I don’t think I’ve actually written it down anywhere. Not that bluntly.

But really, I am. I’ve had a few mood swings [not so many as to be considered psycho]. I’ve had emotional breakdowns out of the blue [again, not many] that took me from being angry to laugh crying [what IS that called? first you’re laughing then you’re sobbing great big fat tears and you’re melting down – there should be a word for that]. I’ve had ridiculous heartburn [and no Pepto allowed]. I’ve had a few cravings [but nothing more bizarre than wanting to eat baked potatoes every day for the entire 3rd month…]. I’m finally looking like I might actually be pregnant rather than just out of shape and fat [they don’t tell you “in your 7th month you’re gonna turn into a little whale”]. And hello hemorrhoids [what the hell?! I’ve been eating fiber!!].

Mom wants “pregnant pictures of your belly”. I haven’t taken them yet – it’s not exactly your every day thing – “Hey, baby… will you take a picture of my belly… but wait, let me get out of these yoga pants… sweats .. and put some make up on…” It’s weird, but I don’t have this urge to “capture” photos of baby belly or physical changes like so many other women [online] seem to want to. I mean, there’s even a “Belly Book” you can buy to paste photos into to capture the moment… I just don’t get it. I have on a pretty skirt today, maybe I’ll hand the man the camera to appease the “grandma”. 🙂

The “kidmondo” site gets more attention than this one, but that’s not saying much…

There have been many times in my life when I wondered what my Mom thought about certain things when she was my age… or went through something that I am [even when our ages were different]… and I wonder if my child will wonder the same. Will he/she wonder what I thought about life, pregnancy, pets, people, religion, social outlooks…

and I think maybe I ought to make a better effort at writing here. Maybe one day s/he will want to read my “diary”… or maybe not.

Responses

  1. Congratulations 🙂 I know what you mean about all the fluffiness & nonsense that most women seem to spew when they’re pregnant. Don’t get me wrong–I was thrilled to death when it happened to me, and I love my son more than anything in the world ever. But I’m in no rush to do it again. There are pictures of me the day before I gave birth, but since I’m only 5′ 2″ & had a 9-lb. chunk of a little boy, I pretty much look like I have a beach ball shoved under my shirt. I hope your last month goes quickly for you, and I’m looking forward to “meeting” your little bundle o’ joy. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

