Posted by: Linda B | October 15, 2011

hurt so much

I am against banning dog breeds. I am for educating owners. I am against puppy mills. I am for adoption of shelter dogs. I am absolutely against dog fighting. I am for leash laws. I am against cruelty. I am for Victoria’s positive learning methods.

I could go on about what I am for and what I am against but basically what it comes down to is that I am, as a whole, in support of a healthy and safe life for dogs [animals].

But as the world connects more via the internet and social medias, I’m realizing that I don’t know what to do with all this hurt and sadness I feel. The anger.

So many videos and stories and blogs and newspaper articles and television snippets and websites … exposing the pain that so many of them go through. At the hands of humans.

It bruises my soul each and every time I learn of something new, more of the same…

Maggie is a street rescue, I love her to pieces and I’m so very happy every day that I was able to spare her the fate of so many others ignored on the side of the road. I want to help them all… but truth is I can’t even manage to provide a perfect environment for my own let alone contemplate helping others.

There was a time when I would stop for every single stray. I’d dodge traffic to try to help them, oblivious to my own safety. I’d invest the hours of patience it takes to entice just one scared dog close enough to rescue. But there are so many here… and now there’s George sitting in the back of the car [I can’t leave him unattended]… and I feel helpless. Like a fraud. Like I ought to be doing more.

Sometimes, just sometimes, I wish I didn’t know about dogs like Lennox and Gideon or see the ones lifeless on the side of these Memphis roads… because I’m helpless in the vastness of it. It makes me ache. And I can’t do anything. I can’t FIX IT.

I don’t know what to do with all this emotion and if I didn’t know, if I didn’t see, maybe it wouldn’t hurt so much.

Leave a Reply

Categories

